Romaine Salad with Avocado Dressing

I have a confession to make. I’m a terrible vegetarian. I don’t really like…vegetables. I’ll eat some broccoli here and there, and some carrot sticks, but a plate full of veggies just doesn’t appeal to me, and I’ve never enjoyed salad. So when I came across this  recipe in Taste of Home magazine, I was thrilled to have found a salad that I like. It makes a delicious light meal, or you can serve it on the side. And if you make too much dressing, I’ve discovered that it also doubles as a scrumptious dip for chips.

Romaine Salad with Avocado Dressing
Slightly altered from Taste of Home magazine

Dressing Ingredients:

1 medium ripe avocado, peeled and cubed
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3 tblsps. lemon juice
2 peeled garlic cloves, crushed
1/2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. hot pepper sauce

Salad ingredients:
1 bunch romaine, torn
3 medium tomatoes, cut in wedges
1 cup shredded cheddar
2 chopped green onions
Corn chips, crushed

In a blender, combine avocado, mayo, oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and pepper sauce until smooth. In a large bowl, toss romaine, tomates, cheese, and scallions. Sprinkle with corn chips, serve cold.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Zatetic and get our posts delivered straight to your inbox

Join 1 other follower

